Eighteen years later, MatM return with their 8th studio album, a highly textured set-piece of twelve new songs that range from gorgeously evocative to near chaos. The album was five years in the making and was mixed by David Bottrill (Peter Gabriel, David Sylvian, Robert Fripp). The songs range from the horn-inflected "Drive", the anthemic groove of "Mess" to the darkly beautiful "Life's Too Short To Long For Something Else" and "Love Began With Eve", a song that Daniel Lanois has stated is "one of the most beautiful, original songs I've ever heard." Fans and newcomers alike will not be disappointed.



"Delicate is a riveting listen… hypnotic rhythms, wonderfully obtuse arrangements and entrancing textures… Delicate is a return to form, as welcome as it is remarkable."

Bob Klanac



"This song, (Mess), is so good it almost makes up for yet another season of American Idol having started the other night."



"Delicate captures the truth of how messy and beautiful life can be… playful, fun, sexed up and strange. (Martha) comes through with tenderness and strength, sorrow and joy, love and suffering... she takes me through courageously and I end up feeling this deep sense of comfort and hope by the end."

Becky Ninkovic



"The hooky "na-na-na-nas" that open this preview of the band's first album since Modern Lullaby way back in 1992 sound as if they've been excised from The Beatles' Hey Jude and transplanted into more exotic surroundings. The result skips, swings and skitters across jazz, dance, pop and world music without once sounding out of place in any of them."

John Sakamoto



"Love Began With Eve is one of the most beautiful, original songs I've ever heard."

Daniel Lanois,

Mark Gane

guitars, keyboards, synthi A, bass, percussion, backing vocals, mandolin, lap steel, treatments


Martha Johnson

vocals, keyboards, casio horn, melodica, clarinet, keyboards, percussion, rhythm box, additional guitar, pluck guitar


Leo Valvassori

bass, keyboards, additional guitar, percussion, cello, cello cloud, key bass, percussion, loudhailer, loops, backing vocals, bowed bass


Eric Paul

drums, backing vocals, percussion


Steve Donald



Paul Brennan



Gerry Reid

flutes, messing around vocals



Elly Barlin-Daniels

backing vocals


Debby & David Blyth

backing vocals


Eve Gane
backing vocals

Andrea Ramolo
backing vocals

Catherine Robertson

backing vocals

Charlie Roby
backing vocals

Rachel Winer
backing vocals


Produced & Arranged by

Mark Gane, Leo Valvassori & Martha Johnson


Recorded 2005–2008 in Toronto at

The Web, Leo’s Loft, Backroom Recording Studio, 7 Windows & Rattlebox Studios


Engineered by
Leo Valvassori & Anthony D’Avanzo

Additional engineering by

David Bottrill, Brian Moncarz & Mark Gane

Mixed at

Phase One Studios, Toronto by David Bottrill, Sept–Oct 2008

Assisted by

Jeff Pelletier & Jay Dufour

Mastered by

Peter J. Moore at the E Room, Toronto


Sailing Through The Light
One In A Million
All I Know
Blue Bed
Don’t Say Anything
Love Began With Eve
Rain Reprise
Sorry, but you need the latest version of the Flash Player and Javascript must be enabled in your browser to view this site as it was intended.